No Fee Unless We Win

Free Consultation

414.622.1322

Wisconsin Car Insurance Laws

Wisconsin Car Insurance Laws

Purchasing car insurance is not just a good idea to help you deal with the high costs often related to car accidents, it is also the law in many situations. In Wisconsin, motorists who do not meet minimum car insurance laws can face serious legal penalties, such as high fines, removal of driving privileges, and even jail time. If you want to make certain that you are well within the legal definition of valid car insurance in Wisconsin, you should review this provided rundown of the laws and call your insurance provider.

Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Wisconsin

Wisconsin legislation requires that all drivers be covered by insurance that covers liability. Liability coverage is an insurance industry term for insurance that helps pay for bodily injuries and property damage specifically.

Your liability coverage in Wisconsin must cover at least the following amounts per accident:

  • $25,000 per injured or deceased person
  • $50,000 for all people injured or deceased
  • $10,000 for property damage

This breakdown is often simplified to 25/50/10 coverage. On many insurance statements or summaries, you should see three numbers depicted in a similar fashion. If your coverage is anything less than 25/50/10, you have been sold a policy that does not meet legal requirements and could land you in trouble with the law. Calling a personal injury or insurance law attorney may be necessary to sort out the complications.

Wisconsin Uninsured/Underinsured Requirements

You must also have car insurance coverage in Wisconsin that will help cover any costs related to injuries caused by uninsured or underinsured drivers. An uninsured driver is simply someone who has not purchased insurance or who flees the scene of the accident before providing you with identification and insurance information. An underinsured driver is anyone who has a policy less than 25/50/10.

Uninsured and underinsured insurance policies must meet the following minimums:

  • $100,000 per person for injuries
  • $300,000 for all people injured

You may notice that uninsured and underinsured policies only cover injuries per accident, not property damage. It is often advised that you add on option “collision coverage” if you want to ensure you gain some financial assistance for car repairs and replacements. Once again, speaking to your insurance company about policy options is a good way to learn more about your coverage and premiums.

Miscellaneous Car Insurance Laws & Legal Support

In addition to owning car insurance in Wisconsin, you are also required to be able to provide proof of insurance after an accident or to a police officer during a traffic stop. Insurance companies are required to provide you with insurance identification cards, both digitally and physically. Keep one in your glove compartment at all times and update it whenever applicable.

You are also able to refuse to purchase car insurance if you are considered a “high risk” driver. In such a situation, you will need to be financially stable enough to meet the minimum requirements from your own funds. You can also use the Wisconsin Automobile Insurance Plan (WAIP) to find affordable car insurance through a government program.

If you have any additional questions or want help from a Milwaukee car accident attorney after being hit by another driver, contact Casey Law Offices, S.C. today. Our team has 25+ years of legal experience and a track record of positive case results. When we are handling your car accident case, you can rest easy knowing that real professionals have your back.

Categories