Casey Law Offices, S.C

Uninsured Motorist Accident Claims

Milwaukee Car Accident Attorneys – (414) 272-3776

It is illegal to drive in Wisconsin without the state’s minimum car insurance coverage. If you are struck by an uninsured motorist and injured, not only do you need to call the police to notify them of the illegal activity, you should also call a personal injury law firm. You can come to Casey Law Offices, S.C. and speak with our Milwaukee car accident lawyers about your claim for free. We have 40+ years of legal and trial experience and only accept payment for our services if we win you a settlement or verdict.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Wisconsin

The minimum insurance requirements are in place to ensure that there is the possibility of some repayment after liability is established in a car accident. Driving with coverage that does not meet these minimums, or with none at all, is a crime.

Wisconsin uses a 25/50/10 insurance system, which means:

  • $25,000 is required for injury or death per person
  • $50,000 is required for multiple injured persons
  • $10,000 is required for property damage

Uninsured drivers will not have any sort of coverage, and so a car accident claim cannot be filed against their insurance company. This does not mean that there is no way for an injured party to collect compensation. A personal injury lawsuit can still be filed directly against the negligent driver. Do not assume the liable party cannot afford to repay you just because they did not have car insurance; speak to your personal injury attorney about what to do before you sign any sort of unofficial statement or settlement.

Hit-and-Run is the Same as Uninsured

If you are hit by a reckless driver or drunk driver who then flees the scene before you can get their insurance or personal identifications, you have been in a hit-and-run accident. Wisconsin law considers a hit-and-run driver as an uninsured driver, since they essentially have no insurance by leaving right away. If you have uninsured motorist insurance as part of your policy, you should be able to receive fair recoveries from your own insurance provider.

In the event of a hit-and-run, try to remember:

  • Contact police at once
  • General description of the driver
  • Direction it was heading before and after the crash
  • Make, model, color, and condition of the vehicle

With any luck, the police will be able to catch the hit-and-run driver. If they are convicted of their crime, it will strengthen your claim but it will not create your claim. You are still responsible for seeking compensation on your own through a civil claim.

Hit by an Uninsured or Underinsured Driver? Call Us.

Uninsured motorist accidents can lead to litigation that feels considerably more stressful than the typical car accident claim. Sometimes it might not even be clear against whom you should bring your lawsuit. The Milwaukee car accident lawyers at our law firm are here to let you know that you have legal allies on your side who genuinely want to see you through this difficult time as quickly and pain-free as possible.

You should start your case as soon as possible. Contact our office now.

Related Reading

Awards

  • NA
  • Trial Lawyers
  • One Percent
  • Justice
  • Avvo